One week ago Henryk made his charge into this world.  Tonight we are thankful for his life thus far.  We have been extremely blessed with this gift.  God has taught us a lot already through Henryk’s life.

Update: We have been transitioning as a family the past few days.  At times we have just stared at him anxiously and fearfully waiting for a seizure to happen.  Other times we have caught ourselves just smiling at this beautiful baby boy.  Under it all we have been trusting that God knows exactly what he is doing (Ps 139).

We called the neurologist yesterday because of many repeated twitches Henryk was doing.  The doctor called us back today and said that twitching while asleep no matter how much most likely is not seizure activity.  So, if this is true, then Henryk’s medicine is working and we have no new seizures to report!  Thank you for your prayers (Luke 18:1).

We have a “normal” appointment on Monday with the pediatrician, and they will test Henryk’s phenobarbital (seizure medicine) levels, amongst other things  Then on Tuesday we have an EEG appointment to monitor Henryk’s brain waves and see if the phenobarbital has impacted the seizure activity.  So, far we have reason to believe the medicine is working.

Please continue to pray Jeremiah 29:11-13 and John 9:1-3 for us.

We want to draw attention to a few prayers that have been answered along the way (though we believe God has worked in thousands of unseen ways): 1) Henryk was born stable, is at home, nursing like a champ, and doing well 2) He did not have hydrocephalus and thus did not need a shunt.

Please continue to pray for the upcoming months for us to love and serve Henryk well as we will no doubt start to see some effects of the multiple strokes he has suffered in the womb.

Lastly, we want to highlight God’s provision to us with the awesome doctors we have interacted with at Abbott.  They truly are remarkable individuals who have blessed us with their experience, their knowledge, their compassion, and their patience.

And now some pictures…

Image

Lily and Henryk with Ann (Emily’s Mom)

Image

Lily and Henryk getting some face time with one another

Image

Henryk digging his new shades – totally trying to impress Mom!

Psalm 23: The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
  He makes me lie down in green pastures.
 He leads me beside still waters.
  He restores my soul.
 He leads me in paths of righteousness
  for his name’s sake.
 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
  I will fear no evil,
 for you are with me;
  your rod and your staff,
  they comfort me.
 You prepare a table before me
  in the presence of my enemies;
 you anoint my head with oil;
  my cup overflows.
 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
  all the days of my life,
 and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD
  forever.”

