Tonight marks one month since Henryk was born. Emily took both kids out by herself for the first time today. We went to a friend’s house with some other families. Those sweet friends threw a little birthday party for Henryk. It was incredibly touching and Henryk is indirectly enjoying his cake very much.

We continue to move forward as best we can. We are often back and forth between laughter and tears. We simultaneously feel joy and pain. That is how it will be for us, and we are adjusting to it. A pastor from church came to see us this week and recited Psalm 121 to Henryk, which was very sweet because it has been Emily’s most significantly helpful place to go her whole pregnancy. We are resting in the fact that this is the character of our God for us and Henryk.

1 I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? 2 My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth. 3 He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber. 4 Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. 5 The LORD is your keeper; the LORD is your shade on your right hand. 6 The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night. 7 The LORD will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life. 8 The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.

One of the most poignant characteristics of this past month has been how God is helping us through the people that are in our lives. Our families, friends, and people who are just acquaintances or even strangers that have been reaching out to us. It has been wonderful. Please do not hesitate to talk to us. It is incredibly helpful. Not one person has said “the wrong thing.” Every email, message, note, and text is a lifeline of love and care. It truly upholds us and we need it.

Henryk’s Friends (left to right): Cole, Maddux, Lily, Carson, Sam, and Sophia

Henryk being loved by Uncle Andy this past weekend

Mumma taking care of our buddy after his bath

Sleepy Henryk

Mother tending to her flock

How firm a foundation, ye saints of the Lord,
Is laid for your faith in His excellent word!
What more can He say than to you He hath said—
To you who for refuge to Jesus have fled?

“Fear not, I am with thee, oh, be not dismayed,
For I am thy God, and will still give thee aid;
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
Upheld by My gracious, omnipotent hand.

“When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
The rivers of sorrow shall not overflow;
For I will be with thee thy trouble to bless,
And sanctify to thee thy deepest distress.

“When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie,
My grace, all-sufficient, shall be thy supply;
The flame shall not harm thee; I only design
Thy dross to consume and thy gold to refine.

“The soul that on Jesus doth lean for repose,
I will not, I will not, desert to his foes;
That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
I’ll never, no never, no never forsake.

